Don’t make me over!

I have a girlfriend that I’ve known all my life and I love her dearly. But over there years as each of us have grown and evolved, she has remained stuck in an image that is no longer flattering to her figure, modern trends, or phase her current of life. Well, let me rephrase that. Her fashion went from hoodies and jeans to elastic waist slacks and polyester printed tops. And though we have not yet reached our forties she has become content with wearing clothing that makes her look much older than she really is.

Being that I love fashion and I’m constantly looking at ideas and trends. And I think it’s time that she gets a make-over. I don’t want to change who she is or make her feel uncomfortable. I just want her to see that there are other alternatives to the elastic waist, polyester top combo. I want her to explore fashion possibilities and enjoy a variety textures, colors, shapes, patterns and styles.
All that being said, I don’t know how to approach her with this idea. I would love the opportunity to take her out and help her create a new image but I don’t want to offend her or give her the idea that she’s not beautiful as is. How do I make fashion suggestions that I know is out of her comfort zone and convince her that it’s okay for to try other things?

Does anyone have any suggestions on how to move my friend from a fashion no no to fabulous?

Leave a Reply

