My Fashion Future

Recently turning another year older and taking a closer step to 40. But as I age and I develop a new appreciation for my womanly curves I wonder what my next fashion step should be. Though I still hold close to my youthful features I know that I cannot hold on to every youthful trend or style. What do I get to keep? What must I toss to the side and leave behind? Here are a few items I decided to toss and timeless classics I decided to keep around.

Denim Mini Skirts- Toss
I still have a few short skirts in my arsenal but they are in a variety of textures, patterns and styles. Adding a pair of solid colored tights and a conservative top can distract from the extreme youthfulness of a short skirt.

Jean Jacket- Keep
This a classic keeper. The right jean jacket can add character to a formal dress, a pair of slacks, and even a pair of jeans.

Graphic T-shirts-Toss
These are now only good for a couple of occasions, to workout, to support my favorite sporting teams, to clean house, bedtime and to move. Other than that I’m tossing these out of my wardrobe.

Wedges-Keep
Perfect shoe for the middle aged woman. They’re comfortable, stylish, and lengthen my legs.

Decorative headbands-Toss
A little sparkle here or beading there is fine BUT large bows and extreme bedazzlement is over kill for someone my age. With this accessory I try to follow the K.I.S.S. rule (Keep It Simple Sista)

Patterned Leggins- Toss

If it’s a subtle pattern, I might be able to get away with it. But large, bright, and busy leggings are no longer apart of my life nor will I stand in the store considering purchasing a pair of theses.

Other Keepers: Printed scarves, Leg warmers, Chuck Taylors, Solid Colored Leggings, Bright colored lipstick, Spanx

Leave a Reply

